Do You Know Someone or a Team that Deserves to Win the Welsh National Procurement Awards?

The Welsh National Procurement Awards (WNPA) ceremony is to take place on 10th June at Bangor University. These annual awards are organised by Bangor University’s Institute for Competition & Procurement Studies with the support of the Welsh Government and are a reflection of real-life best-practice achievement of companies (private or public sector) that supply to or buy from the Welsh public sector and contracting authorities.

So why should you be interested? Apart from the awards being free to enter, and the recognition received from this prestigious award, it’s a wonderful opportunity to show how your company is contributing to the procurement landscape across Wales and the well-being of its citizens. The awards are a measure of how procurement modernisation, innovation, leadership and best practice, in areas such as tendering, service delivery and public procurement, are gathering momentum and importance.

So if you know individuals or teams who:

  • Are the most innovative
  • Drive public procurement progress
  • Influence change
  • Implement procurement policy in a way that delivers real environmental, social and economic benefit to Wales
  • Are suppliers of innovative goods or services to the public sector …

... then you are the perfect candidate to make a nomination.

It’s also about an opportunity for people, teams, companies to feel recognised for their contribution to best practice success stories. Plus, it’s a great evening’s entertainment in the stunning Prichard-Jones Hall, of orchestral music fame (among others) and named after its benefactor, the owner of the Dickins & Jones department stores in London, acquired by Harrods.

The awards are organised into 10 categories:

Innovation Through Procurement; Corporate Social Responsibility; eProcurement; Supplier of the Year; Most Progressive Public Procurement Organisation; Most Improved Supplier In Tendering; Young Professional Of The Year; Procurement Collaboration; Community Benefits; Outstanding Contribution – so there’s plenty to choose from. It’s important to note that the project or initiative you are nominating doesn’t have to have started and finished in the 2014-2015 timeframe. So, even more scope.

Each category will be peer-judged by a panel of three independent procurement professionals, who have significant expertise in the field of public procurement.

The only strict criteria is that the nominations must demonstrate:

  1. A high degree of innovation or achievement
  2. Measurable and Significant results
  3. Transferability
  4. Best Practice

The deadline for submitting your nomination is 13th May (by 6pm) and there is a very comprehensive set of guidelines on the website.
Any queries on any aspect of the awards can be referred to:

or on +44 (0) 1248 382907

Full details are on the website here.

Share on Procurious

Discuss this:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.